Sri Lankan President Bans On NTJ, Two Other Islamic Extremist Groups

The Sri Lankan government has banned three Islamic extremist groups, including the National Thowheeth Jama'ath (NTJ), who attacked the terrorist on Easter. More than 250 people were killed in the blasts on Easter, and it was one of the most horrific attacks in the history of the country.
Presidential Guardian Sirisena released an extraordinary gazette on Monday to ban many extremist organizations. He also prohibited the use of drones in the country till the next notice.

According to the Gazette, the National Thowheeth Jama'ath (NTJ), Jatte Milayet Ibrahim (JMI) and Vilayat Aay Seelani (WAS) organizations have been banned. It is noteworthy that on April 21, nine suicide bombers, including a woman, blasted three churches and several luxury hotels, in which 258 people, including 44 foreigners, died and 500 others were injured. Of the dead, 10 were Indians.

The Islamic State militant group took responsibility for the attacks, but the government attributed it to the local terrorist extremist group National Thowheeth Jama'ath. The Sri Lankan government imposed a nationwide curfew on Monday and blocked social media platforms to prevent people from provoking violence. Communal violence has erupted in new areas of the island country.

Meanwhile, Sirisena also banned the use of drones in the country until the next notice. Another Gazette notification says, "any unmanned aircraft or drone flying over Sri Lankan territory by a person other than a triforce or a police member is prohibited until further notice."  Earlier, Sri Lankan Civil Aviation Authority banned the use of drones and unmanned aircraft after the Easter blasts.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.