DC Vs KXIP, IPL 2019, 37th Match:- Delhi Settled Defeat Account With Punjab

In the captaincy of Shreyas Iyer (unbeaten 58), Delhi Capitals beat Kings XI Punjab by 5 wickets on Saturday. With this win, Delhi has also settled the defeats from Punjab this season. Earlier in the match, Punjab had beaten Delhi by 14 runs.

In the match at the Ferozeshah Kotla Stadium in Delhi, Punjab presented a challenge of 164 runs. In reply, Delhi achieved this target in 19.4 overs at the loss of 5 wickets. After the win, Delhi's position in the points table has gone up with 12 points. He is behind Mumbai Indians at the second position based on the run rate.

Unstoppable Shreyas Iyer's captaincy inning

For Delhi, Iyer has scored the most runs. He made 5 fours and 1 sixes in his 49-ball innings. Apart from Iyer, Shikhar Dhawan (56), Colin Ingram (19), Rishabh Pant (6), Axar Patel (1) and Prithvi Shaw contributed 13 runs. On behalf of Punjab, Hardus Viljoen took two and Mohammad Shami picked one wicket.

Earlier, losing the toss, Punjab batted first, scored 163 runs by losing 7 wickets in 20 overs. Chris Gayle (69) scored highest runs for Punjab. He hit six fours and five sixes in his horrible innings of 37 balls.

Gayle was batting dangerous but Sandeep Lamichhane made him a victim on the second ball of the 13th over. Their wicket dropped to a total of 106 runs. Lamichhane also dismissed all-rounder Sam Curran on the last ball of the over. He returned Pavilion without grabbing one run.

For Delhi, Sandeep Lamichhane grabbed three wickets, while Axar Patel and Kagiso Rabada got two wickets each.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.